skip to content

Early Cancer Institute


The Early Cancer Institute Steering Committee consists of academics from within Cambridge University whose research encompasses early cancer detection and a patient representative. The Steering Committee meets tri-annually, and their role is to maintain an overview of the Institute and the Cambridge ACED Member Centre. They provide advice and support to ensure delivery of agreed outcomes.

Current Steering Committee members

Professor Antonis Antoniou, Cancer risk prediction Dr Jamie Blundell, Early Cancer Institute Group Leader representative Professor Sarah Bohndiek, Novel imaging approaches for cancer detection and understanding cancer development
Professor Rebecca Fitzgerald, OBE, FMedSci.
Early detection and treatment of gastro-oesophageal cancers
Professor Andrew Flewitt,
Electronic devices and materials,
including MEMs and thin film transistors
Professor Robert Rintoul,
Respiratory consultant, Royal Papworth Hospital and Reader in Thoracic Oncology

Dr Kenneth Seamon,
Scientific Development and global collaboration

Professor Marc Tischkowitz, Professor and Honorary Consultant in Medical Genetics Professor George Vassiliou,
Early detection and treatment of haematological cancers