skip to content

Early Cancer Institute


The Early Cancer Institute benefits from expert guidance from within and outside the University. The internal Steering Committee meets quarterly and the eminent, international Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) meets annually.

Early Cancer Institute Steering Committee

The Early Cancer Institute Steering Committee consists of academics from within Cambridge University whose research encompasses early cancer detection, a patient representative and a member from Cancer Research UK. The Steering Committee meets quarterly, and their role is to maintain an overview of the Institute and the Cambridge ACED Member Centre. They provide advice and support to ensure delivery of agreed outcomes.

Current Steering Committee members

Professor Antonis Antoniou, Cancer risk prediction Dr Jamie Blundell, Early Cancer Institute Group Leader representative Professor Sarah Bohndiek, Novel imaging approaches for cancer detection and understanding cancer development
Professor Rebecca Fitzgerald, OBE, FMedSci.
Early detection and treatment of gastro-oesophageal cancers
Professor Andrew Flewitt,
Electronic devices and materials,
including MEMs and thin film transistors
Chris Girling, Patient Public Involvement (PPI) representative 

Professor Robert Rintoul,
Respiratory consultant, Royal Papworth Hospital and Reader in Thoracic Oncology

Dr Kenneth Seamon,
Scientific Development and global collaboration
Professor Marc Tischkowitz, Professor and Honorary Consultant in Medical Genetics
Professor George Vassiliou,
Early detection and treatment of haematological cancers


Dr Alexis Webb,
CRUK representative



Scientific Advisory Board

The Early Cancer Institute Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) consists of renowned experts representing academia and industry whose knowledge encompasses many aspects of early cancer detection. The purpose of the SAB is to advise on the strategic relevance and future direction of the Institute. The Scientific Advisory Board meets in person once a year, around the time of our Annual Symposium, and may have additional virtual meetings during the course of the year.